One of ISyE's Greatest Resources: Its Prominent Faculty

ISyE is the world’s largest school of its kind, supporting teaching and research activities across the broad scope of contemporary industrial engineering and operations research. However, more important than size, the real strength of the School comes from the presence of a large number of distinguished faculty members, many of whom have earned the right to be viewed as world-class in their respective fields.

In addition to many distinguished faculty members, ISyE has been particularly successful in attracting senior emerging scholars in our field, with a number of young faculty members having received highly coveted research awards from the NSF. Also, our full-time faculty is augmented each year by visiting scholars who contribute to our intellectual pool, while providing experience from different parts of the world and academic disciplines beyond our own.

Our faculty continues to receive some of the more prominent awards in our discipline. Listed below are some highlights of these awards. However, this is not an exhaustive list. Many other awards and accolades have been won by our faculty. These can be found by visiting our faculty web pages.

National Academy of Engineering Members (NAE)

Jan Shi 2018, Arkadi Nemirovski 2017, Jeff Wu 2004, H. Donald Ratliff 1996 (Emeritus), William Rouse 1991 (Emeritus), Ellis Johnson 1988 (Emeritus), George Nemhauser 1986

Fellows of Societies

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Valerie Thomas 2010

Fellow, American Physical Society

Valerie Thomas 1999

Fellow, American Society for Quality

Jeff Wu 2002

Fellow, American Statistical Association

Roshan Joseph Vengazhiyil 2012, Brani Vidakovic 2008, Jye-Chyi (JC) Lu 2007, Jeff Wu 1985

Fellow, Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

William B. Rouse 1994 (Emeritus)


Shabbir Ahmed 2017, Edwin Romeijn 2017, Pinar Keskinocak 2015, Eva K. Lee 2015, Jeff Wu 2009, Jianjun Shi 2008, Jiangang (Jim) Dai 2007, Chelsea (Chip) C. White III 2006, John J. Bartholdi, III 2005, George L. Nemhauser 2002, Ellis Johnson 2002 (Emeritus), H. Donald Ratliff 2002 (Emeritus), William B. Rouse 2002 (Emeritus)

Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)

Spiridon Reveliotis 2015, Chelsea (Chip) C. White III 1988, William B. Rouse 1985 (Emeritus)

Fellow, Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE)

Edwin Romeijn 2017, Chuck Zhang 2017, David M. Goldsman 2012, Jianjun Shi 2007, Jane Chumley Ammons 2003, Jerry Banks 2002, Hsu-Pin (Ben) Wang 1999, Leon F. McGinnis 1996, H. Donald Ratliff 1996 (Emeritus)

Fellow, Institute of Mathematical Statistics

Vladimir Koltchinskii 2004, Jiangang (Jim) Dai 2003, Jeff Wu 1984

Fellow, International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE)

William B. Rouse 2006 (Emeritus)

Fellow, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Ellis Johnson 2009 (Emeritus), George L. Nemhauser 2009

Fellow, Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

Hsu-Pin (Ben) Wang 2001

National Science Foundation (NSF)

Career Award, NSF 

Yao Xie 2017, Sebastian Pokutta 2015, David Goldberg 2015, Enlu Zhou 2015, Turgay Ayer 2015,Santanu Dey 2012, Antonius Dieker 2012, Yajun Mei 2010, Nicoleta Serban 2010, 2007, Nagi Gebraeel 2006, Roshan Joseph Vengazhiyil 2005, Julie Swann 2004, Ozlem Ergun 2003, Shabbir Ahmed 2002, Shijie Deng 2002, Pinar Keskinocak 2001, Hayriye Ayhan 2000, Anton Kleywegt 1998, Jianjun Shi 1996

NSF Young Investigator, NSF

Edwin Romeijn 2004, Jiangang (Jim) Dai 1994

Presidential Young Investigator, NSF

Eva Lee 1996, Craig A. Tovey 1985, John J. Bartholdi, III 1984-1989

Distinguished Honors & Awards

Box Medal, ENBIS (European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics)

Jeff Wu 2017

COPSS (Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies) Presidents Award

Jeff Wu 1987

Dantzig Prize, Mathematical Programming Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Arkadi Nemirovski 1991, Ellis Johnson 1985 (Emeritus)

David F. Baker Distinguished Research Award, Institute of Industrial Engineers

Hsu-Pin (Ben) Wang 2009, Leon F. McGinnis 1998, H. Donald Ratliff 1991 (Emeritus)

Earl C. Anthony Fellowship, University of California, Berkeley

Jeff Wu 1974-1976

Einstein Chair Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Jeff Wu 2011

Erlang Prize, Applied Probability Society of INFORMS

Antonius Dieker 2012, Bert Zwart 2008, Jiangang (Jim) Dai 1998

Frank Wilcoxon Prize, American Statistical Association and American Society for Quality Control

Jeff Wu 1990

Fulkerson Prize, Mathematical Programming Society and the American Mathematical Society

Robin Thomas 1994, 2009, Arkadi Nemirovski 1982

George E. Kimball Medal, INFORMS

George L. Nemhauser 1988

Honorary Doctorate, Department of Mathematics, University of Waterloo

Arkadi Nemirovski 2009, Jeff Wu 2008

IBM Faculty Award

Antonius Dieker 2013, Santanu Dey 2009, Bert Zwart 2008, William B. Rouse 2005 , 2006, 2007, 2008 (Emeritus), Jiangang (Jim) Dai 2003, Shabbir Ahmed 2002, 2005

IIE Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Operations Research

Joel Sokol 2010

Jacob Wolfowitz Prize

Craig A. Tovey 1989

Jerome Sacks Award for Outstanding Cross-Disciplinary Research, National Institute of Statistical Sciences

Jeff Wu 2005

John Von Neumann Theory Prize, INFORMS

George L. Nemhauser 2012, Arkadi Nemirovski 2003, Ellis Johnson 2000 (Emeritus)

Joseph G. Wohl Outstanding Career Award, IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society

Chelsea (Chip) C. White III 2005, William B. Rouse 2001 (Emeritus)

Khachiyan Prize, INFORMS

George L. Nemhauser 2010

Lanchester Prize, INFORMS

George L. Nemhauser 1990, Ellis Johnson 1983 (Emeritus), George L. Nemhauser 1977

Member (Academician), Academia Sinica

Jeff Wu 2000

Morse Lectureship, INFORMS

George L. Nemhauser 1991

Norbert Wiener Award, IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society

Chelsea (Chip) C. White III 1999, William B. Rouse 1986 (Emeritus)

Senior Scientist Award, Humboldt Foundation

Ellis Johnson 1980 (Emeritus)

Sloan Fellowship, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Jeff Wu 1983

Third Millennium Medal, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Chelsea (Chip) White III  2000, William B. Rouse 2000 (Emeritus)

Tse-Wei Liu Fellowship, University of California, Berkeley

Jeff Wu 1973-1974

WORMS Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS, INFORMS

Jane Chumley Ammons 2005 (Emeritus)

View All Featured Stories